Can I make it to a year, or will cheese get the better of me?!

i love breastfeedingkeep britain feedingi love breastfeeding

We are getting towards the end of Breastfeeding awareness week, I hope you have enjoyed following my posts and found them interesting and useful.

If you missed any of my previous posts you can find them here

There are NO benefits to breastfeeding

Top Tips for Breastfeeding

Are Breastfeeding cafes and organisations the only way to get support?

Breastfeeding in Public

Do changes in pumping habits have any hidden meaning?

This post is going to be very short as I have little experience of feeding beyond a year, My first was fed to around 13months and my second is almost 10months old.

I am really determined to make it to a year with Tim, and I am really starting to struggle at the moment, it isn’t the actual feeding that is the problem, it is the fact that due to his allergies I am having to be dairy free myself, the trouble is he has never experienced any dairy other than through my breastmilk, I however am starting to crave CHEESE!!

CONGRATULATIONS TO ALL WHO HAVE MADE IT BEYOND A YEAR

If you are participating in the Keep Britain Breastfeeding Scavenger Hunt them please leave a comment below telling me how long you have fed for, and if you are still feeding how long you hope to feed for, and it will be counted towards your final hunt score to win the Grand Prize

Please also take a moment to look at some fellow bloggers and companies also taking part in the hunt

Life, Love and Living with Boys

The Kermit Movement

Mummies waiting

Natural Mamas

Respectable Breast Spectable

breastmilk keepsakes

21 thoughts on “Can I make it to a year, or will cheese get the better of me?!

  1. Number 1 I got to 18 months, number 2 13 months. Number 2 had a cows milk sensitivity. Have you tried eating goats products as we were fine with that….

    • unfortunately I have been advised to avoid all animal milk products for now as they all have similar proteins in them. Hopefully he will grow out of it, will just have to wait and see.
      well done for getting past a year with both of oyurs

  2. My eldest daughter, now 8 was breastfed and also has a very severe milk allergy. I breastfed her till 13m so I too had to be dairy free. It wasn’t easy by any means but we now have 2 other children who are on a dairy free diet too. My 2nd daughter has an intolerance to dairy and my lb who I am still feeding at 14m is also dairy free due to the severity of my eldests allergy. There are alternatives for everything out there, it’s just finding the nice ones which is the problem!! Well done for still feeding, it isn’t easy but it does get better! If I can help at all then please let me know x

    • thanks so much for the support, my biggest issue is cheese, i could eat a block at a time no problem, but haven’t had any since the start of the year as any i have tried are so bad i would prefer not to have it 😦
      are your younger children allergic, or do you have to avoid for now just incase they react as well?

  3. I have 9 wk old twin girls who have just been diagnosed with a milk sensitivity. I’m determined to breast feed, it’s good to know you’ve managed to hang in there and gives me hope that it’s possible xxxx

  4. I breastfed my daughter for 19 months, we’re currently 18 months with no sing of stopping with my son…. we’ll stop when we are both ready hopefully

  5. Pingback: Dispelling Breastfeeding Myths | Hinckley Yummy Mummy

    • i love the actual times of feeding, completely get where you are coming from with the addiction thing, but stopping the cheese and chocolate makes you look at everything in a slightly different way 😦

  6. Oh no! It must be so difficult for you, but we do what we have to for our children, don’t we? I really admire your sacrifice though, I mainlined chocolate in the first few months of breastfeeding!

    • I had someone say to me the other day, she’d have had to give up BFing if she had to go dairy free, didn’t quite understand the comment as she stuck a bottle into the mouth of a baby less than half the age of Tim

  7. Currently feeding my 22 month old daughter and I would like her to keep going until she wants to stop. I have IGT though, so when baby arrives in November I will have to be careful about how much number 1 feeds.

Leave a Reply

