When to stop breastfeeding, confused now!

i love breastfeedingI wrote the other day about when to stop breastfeeding

Should I stop before or after we trial Tim with dairy?

Am I stopping for the right reasons?

or just because I want to?

Well it’s definitely not simply because I just want to, I have been thinking about this for a while and everything in my mind came back down to Tim’s milk issues and whether I should try and get him happy on the formula before I have to test him with dairy.

The day I posted the last article on this I happened to be meeting with MummyPinkWellies   

So I was very happy to be able to spend the morning chatting with someone else who had breastfed and also knew about Tim’s issues, I came away feeling that I knew exactly where I wanted to be and that I would feed until he turned one and then stop.

So his birthday came and went, I had lots of ‘advice’ from different people and had no problems with anyone making me think any differently about what I had decided, I felt very much that I had made the right decision for myself and more importantly for Tim. Probably because any people who advised me to keep going have no experience with allergies or are breastfeeding much older children.

Then I got home and saw a comment someone I know had made to my question about when to stop in a group I am in on Facebook.

CMPA support for Breast Feeding

Personally I’d keep going – then at least if little one has a reaction Mummy’s milk will get him thru plus help him get better

So now I am confused again, I really thought I knew what I was doing, but having had to stay in hospital twice with Tim already and it being my breast milk that has got him through, I really don’t know what to do.

He has had formula to go to bed with the last 2 nights, but still had mummy’s milk if needed during the night.

 

I know that being a parent was never meant to be easy, but these sorts of decisions are so worrying as I only want to do what is best, but what is that?

One thought on “When to stop breastfeeding, confused now!

  1. Pingback: A bad week | Hinckley Yummy Mummy

Leave a Reply

