NasalGuard Cold&FluBLOCK review

As a breastfeeding mum I am always restricted on what medication I can take so was really happy to be asked to review NasalGuard Cold&FluBLOCK ‘a new and innovative gel designed to reduce the likelihood of getting colds and flu.’

DSCF2648

 

As it is a ‘water-based, drug-free gel’ it is safe for pregnant women, children and the elderly, as well as being ok to use while taking other medications. So this was the first big plus for me as it means there is no risk while breastfeeding to either mother or baby.

It is really easy to use, all you need to do is squeeze a small amount onto your finger/thumb, rub them together before applying around the nostrils, nose and lip.

 

It does need to be applied every 4-6hours between waking and bedtime, (it can be applied under or over make-up) but as it is a small convenient package it is easy to keep in a bag or pocket so it is with you at all times.

DSCF2651

I was concerned about feeling greasy rubbing something just under my nose, and about the smell that would be left, but I am very pleased to say that there is virtually no smell at all, (I wouldn’t have noticed it at all, except I was almost sticking the tube up my nose to see what it smelt of) and there is definitely no greasiness at all. Once I had applied it I wouldn’t even have known it was there, I didn’t even feel a need to wash my hands afterwards.

How does it actually work – otherwise known as the scientific bit,

NasalGuard Cold&Flu Block® uses patented technology that works on a simple principle of electrostatic charges: opposite charges attract each other.

Airborne particles and viruses carry a slight negative charge. Cold&FluBLOCK gel has a slight positive charge which attracts negatively charged airborne particles and viruses. It works like a magnet. When negatively charged airborne particles and viruses approach the nasal passage, the positively charged Cold&FluBlock gel attracts the viruses, traps, holds and immobilises the viruses.

The RRP is £11.99 which seems a lot at first when you see how small the tube is, but when you consider it contains up to 150 applications it isn’t too expensive. Remember that a lot more than this can be spent on decongestants and analgesics when you get a cold, not forgetting any time off work sick etc.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Does it work?

So far, so good, I’ve been using it for a while now and no sign of a cold, maybe I’ll come back and comment once the winter has come and gone to tell you how it goes.

But for now I am more than happy to continue using NasalGuard Cold&FluBLOCK as it is easy and pleasant to use and so far has done everything it has promised.

 

This post is a review of NasalGuard Cold&FluBLOCK, I was supplied with 1 sample of the product to trial. All opinions are my own.

One thought on “NasalGuard Cold&FluBLOCK review

  1. Pingback: Beat the Bugs! | Parenthood Highs and Lows

Leave a Reply

