Gro-clock review

A couple of years ago we had issues with my eldest son waking very early in the mornings, I had read about a product called Gro-clock so we decided to give it ago.
A few weeks ago I was asked if I would consider reviewing the exact same product and I jumped at the chance, so now both my boys have them.

groclock 2When the box arrived the boys ‘helped’ me to open it, Tim was very quick to show everyone how this was

yams clock
(hopefully soon he’ll learn to say Sam)

groclock 3

So I spent time explaining to Tim that yes Sam has one, but this one is for him, and there we were rushing up the stairs to get it in his room.

groclock 5

Not only did it need to go straight in his room, but then the boys had to try it out

unfortunately it didn’t work, as you may notice from the pictures this was 11.40 in the morning and no they didn’t stay in bed until 7am the next day, well I could dream couldn’t I?

So now for the serious review, not the why didn’t the boys stay in bed for almost 20hours!

My review is simple, straight forward and to the point, this is an amazing product!

Why?
Easy, this is being said by a mum that was only ever getting 4am or maybe the occasional 5am wake ups and now most of the time has around 6.30 to 7am wake ups and this week has even had a couple of mornings I have had to wake him up!

So how did we do it?

We took it slowly, we realised that if he was used to waking up at 4am there was no chance that one day we could say,

look you have this magic clock, you know how normally you wake up at 4am, well tonight you get to press this button on the clock and then tomorrow you won’t wake til 7am

we knew it just wouldn’t happen.

What we did was initially set the clock to change from Star to sun at his normal wake up time, we made it sound all exciting when we put him to bed and let him press the button. The next morning we were woken, still at a very early time, to yells of

I’VE GOT SUN, I’VE GOT SUNgroclock 5

so we were one step in the right direction, he was obviously excited by the clock.

Over the next few weeks we changed the ‘wake-up’ time 10 to 15mins later each day, we then did the same as we had needed to do to get him to go to bed and if he woke before the sun came up we would sit in his room with him until the sun came up, trying (even at unearthly hours) to be all excited when it finally appeared.

Within less than a month we had success and were never getting a shout from his room before 6.30.

Tim has never been as bad with early mornings so it has been much quicker to ‘train’ him, and he has had the bonus of a big brother to teach him what to do. It was really sweet to hear him that first morning having been instructed by Sam and shouting

I’VE GOT SUN, I’VE GOT SUN

My one negative about it,
although you can lock the clock so that no one can change the settings, this only works until the sun comes up.
When I set the clock at night I lock the clock and they are unable to change anything, however once the sun has appeared if they press any buttons they can change the time etc.

But this is a small negative by comparison to being able to have a good nights sleep.

This post is a review of Gro-clock, I was provided a free Gro-clock. All opinions are my own.

Leave a Reply

