Technology free

iphone-macbook-air-man-156

How many of you have said that you are not addicted to technology and could easily go without it, but find yourself checking your phone, tablet, laptop every 5minutes?

Do you think you could actually do it?

Well I can and I did,

Ok it was because my mobile died and then the mouse on my laptop finally gave up so I had no choice

But it was lovely, I couldn’t contact anyone and no one could contact me, I had no way to get on a computer or the internet, so there was no point turning my computer or phone (oh yes, what phone!) on.

I will admit that the world we live in now a days does make it hard to live without a mobile,
for example – some girls from the Guide unit I run were camping while I was without phone and one of the parents was trying to get hold of me, so I had to get an old mobile up and running, but all I could do was calls and texts, no options to get online.

And by Sunday we were at A&E (family not Guides) so again it is useful to be able to make a quick call home to tell someone what is going on.

But it has made me reassess how much time we all spend ignoring each other staring at some form of technology.

So a challenge for all of you,
Try and spend sometime without checking your e-mails, Facebook etc,

I am not asking you to go completely without, if someone needs to speak to you they can still phone you, but we all need to start spending some time without always checking if someone has sent us an email to tell us there is an amazing deal on life insurance (could just be the latest one I’m getting several times a day at the moment) or to see what annoying pictures someone has shared

And

I am not asking for an entire day, just try and spend time while you are with your children not looking at any technology, this could go both ways, maybe you are starting to feel that they are on their devices too much, not a problem in our house as our boys don’t own any!

Would love to know how anyone who tries this gets on

Leave a Reply

